IASP Officers and Councilors

IASP Officers Councilors Conflict of Interest

The IASP Council (board of directors) consists of the five executive officers and the councilors. Only officers and councilors have the right to vote.

Executive Officers

Five executive officers are nominated and elected by the members to serve two-year terms. These officers, who make up the Executive Committee, hold the positions of president, president-elect, immediate past-president, secretary, and treasurer. The Executive Committee is part of the IASP Council.

President: Claudia Sommer, MD (Germany)
President - Elect: 
Catherine Bushnell, PhD (USA) (USA)
Past President:
Lars Arendt-Nielsen, Dr. Med., PhD (Denmark)
Secretary:Mary Cardosa, MBBS (Malaysia) 
Treasurer:Michael Rowbotham, MD (USA)


Fifteen councilors, who together represent IASP’s international and multidisciplinary scope, are nominated and elected by the members to serve six-year terms. The year in parentheses indicates when a councilor's term expires.

Nadine Attal, MD, PhD (France) (2024)
Sushma Bhatnagar, MD, MSc (India) (2022)
Fiona Blyth (Australia) 2026 (Malaysia) (2026) 
Margarita Calvo, PhD (Chile) (2026)
Eloise Carr, PhD (Canada) (2024) 
Robert Coghill, PhD (USA) (2024)
Jordi Miro, PhD (Spain) (2024)
Supranee Niruthisard, MD (Thailand) (2026)
Romy Parker, PhD (South Africa) (2026)
Serge Perrot, MD, PhD (France) (2022)
Esther Pogatzki-Zahn, Prof. Dr. med. (Germany) (2024)
Andrew Rice, MB BS, MD, FRCP, FRCA, FFPMRCA (UK) (2022)
Michele Sterling, PhD (Australia) (2022)
Jennifer Stinson, PhD (Canada) (2026)
Takahiro Ushida, MD, PhD (Japan) (2022)