2017 Global Year Against Pain After Surgery

The 2017 IASP Global Year Against Pain After Surgery has several purposes: 

  • Disseminate information worldwide about pain after surgery 
  • Educate pain researchers as well as health-care professionals who see the issues associated with such pain first-hand in their interactions with patients
  • Increase awareness of postsurgical pain among public officials, members of the media, and the general public
  • Encourage government leaders, health-care organizations, and others to support policies that result in improved management of pain after surgery 

How to Participate

Translated Fact Sheets

Check back here for Fact Sheets translated into various languages. We will post them as they become available. Please let us know if you would like to translate the Fact Sheets.

Global Year Task Force

Daniel B. Carr (USA), MD, DABPM, FFPMANZCA (Hon), Chair of IASP Special Interest Group on Acute Pain, Co-Chair
Bart Morlion (Belgium), MD, PhD, DESA, President-elect, European Pain Federation, EFIC, Co-Chair
Robert I. Cohen (USA) , MD
Patricia Lavand'homme (Belgium), MD, PhD
Winfried Meissner (Germany), MD
Esther Pogatzky-Zahn (Germany), Prof. Dr.med
Stephan Schug (Australia), MD, FANZCA, FFPMANZCA
Audun Stubhaug (Norway), MD, PhD