I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

Patrick D. Wall Young Investigator Prize for Basic Science

How To Apply

All applications must be submitted in English through the online submission portal. No applications will be accepted via email or postal mail. 

This prize honors an individual who has achieved a high level of independence as an outstanding scholar in the field of pain in basic science.


Patrick D. Wall was a British neuroscientist and a leading expert on pain. He is best known for the gate control theory of pain. In 1973, he acted as the scientific study office for the launch of IASP and subsequently acted as the first editor of PAIN

This prize was launched in 1987 and honors an individual who has achieved a high level of independence as an outstanding scholar in the field of pain in basic science. This prize is presented at the IASP World Congress on Pain and the Fellowships, Grants, and Awards Working Group selects the recipient.

Prize Details

The recipient is given the opportunity to present their research at the IASP World Congress on Pain. The recipient also receives a plaque, economy airfare to the Congress, Congress registration, and Congress accommodation expenses, and a cash prize of US$2,500.

Prize Eligibility Requirements

  • The candidate must be within 15 years of their highest degree at the time of application.
  • The candidate must be an IASP member at the time of application. 
  • The candidate must have performed independent research that was not under the direction of senior scientist. 
  • The candidate must have published work in international refereed journals or periodicals. Only work published in international publications will be considered.
  • If selected, the candidate must attend the IASP 2022 World Congress on Pain in Toronto, Ontario, Canada from 19-23 September 2022.

Application Requirements 

  • Complete the online application form.
  • The candidate may be proposed by a senior scientist or may submit a self-nomination. In either case, a letter of nomination describing the candidate’s high level of independence must be submitted. This letter must be uploaded through the online application.

The candidate’s short-form curriculum vitae (CV) must be submitted through the online application. The CV must use the IASP template. The maximum length for this document is 4 pages. 

Share this

  • 2022: Kirsty Bannister, PhD (UK)
  • 2020: Thiago Cunha, PhD (Brazil)
  • 2018: Irina Vetter, PhD (Australia)
  • 2016: Luana Colloca, MD, PhD (USA)
  • 2014: Theodore John Price, PhD (USA)
  • 2012: Giandomenico Iannetti, MD, PhD (UK)
  • 2010: Rohini Kuner, PhD (Germany)
  • 2008: Bryan Hains, PhD (USA)
  • 2005: Michael J. Caterina, MD, PhD (USA)
  • 2002: Jeffrey S. Mogil, BSc, PhD (Canada)
  • 1999: Patrick Dougherty, PhD (USA)
  • 1996: Terence J. Coderre, PhD (Canada)
  • 1993: Valerie Kayser, DSc (France)
  • 1990: Jon D. Levine, MD, PhD (USA)
  • 1987: Clifford J. Woolf, MBBCh, PhD, MRCP (UK)