I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

IASP Neuropathic Pain Special Interest Group Workshop: Update on Advances in Clinical Science and Management

22 February 2022

PRF Webinars


This webinar was presented on February 21, 2022. Thank you to all who attended. The link to the event is available here.


Editor’s note: Attendance is free for IASP members, though registration is still required. A registration fee of $25 is required for non-IASP members. To become an IASP member, you can join here. Trainee memberships are $50 per year, while regular memberships are $180 or $230 per year, depending on income level.


This workshop highlighted recent advances in the assessment of neuropathic pain, mechanism-based diagnosis, and treatment approaches, as well as the latest updates on neuromodulation for neuropathic pain. The focus of the workshop was clinical but also provided value and important information for basic and translational researchers.



  • Andrea Truini, MD, PhD, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy: Diagnostic Tests for Neuropathic Pain
  • Helena Knotkova, PhD, PhilD, MJHS Institute for Innovation in Palliative Care; and Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, US: Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) for Chronic Pain: A Research and Clinical Perspective
  • Barbara Namer, MD, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany: Human C-Nociceptors in Neuropathic Pain: Through the Glasses of a Microneurographer

About the presenters


Andrea Truini, MD, PhD, is a neurologist working in the neuromuscular disease unit at Sapienza University of Rome, Italy. His clinical activity is mostly dedicated to peripheral nerve diseases and chronic pain management. His scientific activity is completely devoted to neuropathic pain and diagnostic tests evaluation of the nociceptive system in humans.



Helena Knotkova, PhD, PhilD, is professor of family and social medicine at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, and director of clinical research and analytics at the MJHS Institute for Innovation in Palliative Care, New York. Her professional work focuses on innovative approaches to symptom control in chronic illness. She has extensive experience with transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) for symptom management, and has delivered more than 2,000 tDCS applications in research as well as in clinical settings. She is the founder and past chair of the Special Interest Group on Neuromodulation of the International Association for the Study of Pain, and the co-founder and co-director of the international CME-accredited tDCS Fellowship. She is the leading editor of several textbooks for medical professionals, including the Textbook of Neuromodulation (Springer, 2015) and the Practical Guide to tDCS (Springer, 2019), and serves on editorial boards of numerous biomedical journals. She achieved her PhD in biological sciences/neuroscience from the Institute of Physiology of Czech Academy of Sciences in Prague, and her doctorate in psychology from Charles University in Prague. She completed the Fulbright Scholarship at the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Columbia University, New York.


Barbara Namer, MD, is a member of the Medical Faculty at RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany. The goal of her research is to solve the pathophysiological enigma of chronic pain and itch by scrutinizing the functional roles of different nerve fibers in humans from the skin to the brain. Her team focuses on the roles of CM-nociceptors and CMi-nociceptors in neuropathic pain and itch, mainly using the technique of microneurography to observe nerve signals traveling along these nerve fibers from the skin to the spinal cord in human volunteers and patients with chronic pain or itch.


About the moderator


Srinivasa N. Raja, MD, is professor of anesthesiology and neurology, and director of pain research at the Johns Hopkins University, Maryland, US. Dr. Raja and his collaborators have received NIH funding for their research for >30 years, and have published >210 peer-reviewed articles. He is an editor of five textbooks related to pain medicine. Dr. Raja has been an active member of IASP for several years, and throughout his tenure has served the association through a variety of volunteer leadership positions. Dr. Raja was the chair of the Scientific Program Committee for the 15th World Congress on Pain, Buenos Aires, 2014. Dr. Raja was a section editor for PAIN from 2012-2014, and he served as IASP secretary and chair of NeuPSIG from 2014-2016. Dr. Raja’s clinical and research interests focus on understanding and managing chronic neuropathic pain states and identifying novel peripheral targets for alleviating chronic neuropathic pain.




The PRF virtual seminar series is supported by the Center for Advanced Pain Studies at the University of Texas at Dallas, US, and The MAYDAY Fund.



Share This