I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

Ronald Melzack Lecture Award

How To Apply

The recipient is chosen by the IASP President from the plenary speakers selected by the Scientific Program Committee.

This award honors IASP Honorary Member Ronald Melzack for his work and contributions to the science of pain.


Ronald Melzack contributed to the field of pain research and management through the development of the gate control theory of pain (with Patrick Wall); developed the concept of the “neuromatrix” as the brain mechanism to explain severe phantom limb pain in the absence of sensory inputs; and created the McGill Pain Questionnaire (MPQ) and Short-Form (MPQ) which are widely used measuring tools for human pain. 

This award was created in 2010 by the IASP Council in honor of IASP Honorary Member Ronald Melzack, for his work and contributions to the science of pain. Funding for the award is provided by the Louise and Alan Edwards Foundation.

Award Details

The recipient is invited to give a plenary lecture at the IASP World Congress on Pain. The recipient also receives a plaque, economy airfare to the Congress, Congress registration, and Congress accommodation expenses, and a cash award of CAD$2,000.

Share this

  • 2022: Luda Diatchenko, MD, PhD (Canada)
  • 2020: Beverly Thorn, PhD (USA)
  • 2018: Christopher Eccleston, PhD (UK)
  • 2016: Frank Porreca. PhD (USA)
  • 2014: David Yarnitsky, MD (Israel)
  • 2012: Luis Garcia-Larrea, MD, PhD (France)