I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

2022 Election

IASP held an election this year to select the organization's next leaders. Our leadership is comprised of members elected by their peers.

Share this
2022 Election Results

2022 Election Results for Officers and Council


Andrew Rice, United Kingdom  


Jane Ballantyne, United States 


Johan Vlaeyen, Belgium 

Ulrike Bingel, Germany 

Takahiro Ushida, Japan 

Lester Jones, Singapore 

Ursula Wesselman, United States 

Council member (six years) and Officer (two years) terms will begin after our General Assembly, held during the 2022 World Congress. The election saw 20.6% of membership participation. Please join us in congratulating the winners and expressing appreciation to all candidates for all they do for IASP.  

Governing the Election

The Election is governed by the Nominations Committee, chaired by the Immediate Past-President Lars Ardent-Nielsen. The Nominations Committee proposes the names of candidates up for election to IASP Council and Officers, based on nominations submitted by members.

2022 Nominating Committee

  • Lars Arendt-Nielsen, Chair (Denmark)
  • Judith Turner (United States)
  • Ian Gilron (Canada), Joletta Belton (United States)
  • Claudia Sommer (Germany), Barry Sessle (Canada)
  • Margarita Calvo (Chile), Jordi Miro (Spain)
  • Koichi Noguchi (Japan)
  • Janet Keast (Australia)
  • Irina Vetter (Australia) 
Developing the Slate of Candidates

The Nominations Committee considers the following criteria in developing the Slate of Candidates:

  • Multidisciplinary nature of IASP
  • Geographical balance
  • Gender balance
  • Past involvement of nominee in IASP, chapter committees, working groups, editorial boards, task forces, and other volunteer positions