I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

Pain, Mind and Movement


[Term 2018-2021]

Chair: Felipe Reis (Brazil)
Vice Chair: N/A
Past Chair: Romy Parker (South Africa)
Treasurer: Katie McBee (USA)
Secretary: Anabela Silva (Portugal)

The SIG on Pain, Mind, and Movement aims to act as a multidisciplinary forum of communication in order to:

  • Improve the standard of care provided to patients with disabling pain in order to improve physical and psychological functioning and increase participation in daily life.
  • Empower health professionals and patients to play active roles in the rehabilitation process.
  • Encourage basic and clinical research on how mind and movement affect disabling pain.
  • Facilitate the translation of evidence into clinical practice and to mediate the implementation of new diagnostics and treatments.
  • Foster communication between researchers, clinicians and patients to drive research and stimulate international study.


Recommended Websites

Recommended Podcasts

Empowered Beyond Pain: https://bodylogic.physio/podcast/trailer/ The Healing Pain Podcast: https://drjoetatta.libsyn.com/

Recommended YouTube Videos

Tame The Beast — It's time to rethink persistent pain: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikUzvSph7Z4

Recommended Studies

  • Meulders A. Fear in the context of pain: Lessons learned from 100 years of fear conditioning research. Behav Res Ther. 2020 Aug;131:103635. doi: 10.1016/j.brat.2020.103635. Epub 2020 Apr 30. PMID: 32417719.
  • Vlaeyen JWS, Crombez G, Linton SJ. The fear-avoidance model of pain. Pain. 2016 Aug;157(8):1588-1589. doi: 10.1097/j.pain.0000000000000574. PMID: 27428892.
  • Caneiro JP, Bunzli S, O'Sullivan P. Beliefs about the body and pain: the critical role in musculoskeletal pain management. Braz J Phys Ther. 2021 Jan-Feb;25(1):17-29. doi: 10.1016/j.bjpt.2020.06.003. Epub 2020 Jun 20. PMID: 32616375; PMCID: PMC7817871.

Share this