I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

Neuropathic Pain (NeuPSIG)


[Term 2022-2024]

Executive Committee:

Chair: Simon Haroutounian (USA)
Past Chair: Aki Hietaharju (Finland)
Vice Chair: Patrick Dougherty (USA)
Treasurer: David Bennett (UK)
Secretary: Margarita Calvo (Chile)

Management Committee:

Theodore Price (USA)
Angelika Lampert (Germany)
Sulayman Dib-Hajj (USA)
Lesley Colvin (UK)
Franziska Denk (UK)
Jan Vollert (UK)

The Neuropathic Pain SIG (NeuPSIG) will advance the understanding of mechanisms, assessment, prevention, and treatment of neuropathic pain.


  • Collaboration between basic and clinical research.
  • The study of the underlying mechanisms of neuropathic pain.
  • The exchange of information and experience about the assessment and treatment of neuropathic pain.
  • The identification and implementation of programs to prevent the development of neuropathic pain.
  • Furthering the educational objectives of the SIG via international meetings, an annual symposium, workshops at the IASP World Congress on Pain®, Congress satellite meetings, a newsletter, and the IASP website.

Neuropathic pain is pain caused by a lesion or disease of the somatosensory nervous system.

Classification of chronic neuropathic pain in ICD-11. Top and 2nd level diagnoses are part of ICD-11 Mortality and Morbidity Linearisation (MMS).

Specific entities of chronic neuropathic pain are included at the next level. According to the new concept of multiple parenting in ICD-11, these entities may be referred to from other divisions of the chronic pain classification, e.g., chronic posttraumatic pain or chronic secondary headaches and orofacial pains.


Other NeuPSIG publications:

Share this