I am a
Home I AM A Search Login

Cancer Pain


[Term 2018-2020]

Chair: Elizabeth Ogboli Nwasor (Nigeria)
Vice Chair: N/A
Past Chair: Stefan Wirz (Germany)

The SIG on Cancer Pain aims to:

  • Allow a forum to allow interchange regarding cancer pain treatment and research between clinicians and scientists.
  • Encourage the advancement of cancer pain research by establishing cancer pain research networks and organizing courses in cancer pain research.
  • Disseminate information regarding cancer pain to IASP members and others.
  • Identify and implement programs and projects that advance the goal of improving the treatment of cancer pain in both developing and developed worlds.


  • Clayton Culp, Hee Kee Kim and Salahadin Abdi Ketamine Use for Cancer and Chronic Pain Management Pharmacol., 02 February 2021 | DOI: https://doi.org/10.3389/fphar.2020.599721
  • Gress, K.L., Charipova, K., Kaye, A.D. et al. An Overview of Current Recommendations and Options for the Management of Cancer Pain: A Comprehensive Review. Oncol Ther 8, 251–259 (2020). DOI: https://doi.org/10.1007/s40487-020-00128-y
  • Juan Yang,1,2 Brent A Bauer,2 Dietlind L Wahner-Roedler,2 Tony Y Chon,2 Lizu Xiao1 The Modified WHO Analgesic Ladder: Is It Appropriate for Chronic Non-Cancer Pain? DOI: https://doi.org/10.2147/JPR.S244173
  • Ogboli Nwasor Elizabeth O, Isa Ahmed-Sherif, Dingwoke Emeka John, Umar Abdullahi Hussein Analgesic and anti-inflammatory effects of resveratrol in rat models of pain: Any role in clinical pain management? Archives of Medicine And Surgery: 2018 | Vol: 3;Number: 1 | Page: 19-23 DOI: 10.4103/archms.archms_54_17
  • Gaertner J, Stamer UM, Remi C, Voltz R, Bausewein C, Sabatowski R, Wirz S, Müller-Mundt G, Simon ST, Pralong A, Nauck F, Follmann M, Radbruch L, Meißner W. Metamizole/dipyrone for the relief of cancer pain: A systematic review and evidence-based recommendations for clinical practice. Palliat Med. 2017 Jan;31(1):26-34. doi: 10.1177/0269216316655746. Epub 2016 Jul 20. PMID: 27435604.
  • Bennett MI, Eisenberg E, Ahmedzai SH, Bhaskar A, O'Brien T, Mercadante S, Krčevski Škvarč N, Vissers K, Wirz S, Wells C, Morlion B. Standards for the management of cancer-related pain across Europe-A position paper from the EFIC Task Force on Cancer Pain. Eur J Pain. 2019 Apr;23(4):660-668. doi: 10.1002/ejp.1346. Epub 2019 Jan 6. PMID: 30480345; PMCID: PMC7027571.

Share this