Neuropathic Pain (NeuPSIG)

NeuPSIG LogoThe Neuropathic Pain SIG (NeuPSIG) will advance the understanding of mechanisms, assessment, prevention, and treatment of neuropathic pain.

SIG Objectives:

  • Collaboration between basic and clinical research.
  • The study of the underlying mechanisms of neuropathic pain.
  • The exchange of information and experience about the assessment and treatment of neuropathic pain.
  • The identification and implementation of programs to prevent the development of neuropathic pain.
  • Furthering the educational objectives of the SIG via international meetings, an annual symposium, workshops at the IASP World Congress on Pain®, Congress satellite meetings, a newsletter, and the IASP® website.

The IASP SIG on Neuropathic Pain (NeuPSIG) keeps an archive of published newsletters from 2001 to 2014

Go to the Archive


2017 NeuPSIG Banner

6th International Congress on Neuropathic Pain

June 15-18, 2017     Gothenburg, Sweden

This congress is the leading international forum that provides the latest research and developments in understanding the mechanisms, assessment, prevention and treatment of neuropathic pain. 

The meeting is a superb opportunity to network and strengthen scientific collaboration with a global community of specialists.

Addtional congress, program, and registration details coming soon!


View the Congress Website Now!


Registration Open October 2016!


Abtract Submission Now Open - Submission Deadline January 10, 2017!


Program Now Available for View!


NeuPSIG has produced instructional videos on neurological examinations of patients with neuropathic pain.


Learn about recent NeuPSIG education and advocacy efforts.

SIG Website Join Today! About SIGs

NeuPSIG Officers, 2016-2018

Executive Committee (elected)

Srinivasa Raja (USA): Acting Chair
Blair Smith (UK): Chair
Nanna Brix Finnerup (Denmark): Vice Chair
Aki Hietaharju (Finland): Secretary
Simon Haroutounian (USA): Treasurer
David Yarnitsky (Israel)

Management Committee Members (appointed)
David Bennett
Mario Campero
Lorimer Moseley
Claudia Sommer
Mark Wallace

IASP Council Liaison
Andrew Rice (UK)


Benefits of Membership

Interested in joining a SIG? Become an IASP member! Learn about the many benefits of IASP membership.

Learn More