Acute Pain

The SIG on Acute Pain advances and promotes the understanding of mechanisms, assessment, prevention, and management of acute pain through the following activities:

  • Collaboration between basic and clinical research.
  • Study of the underlying mechanisms of acute pain, including the transition from acute to chronic pain, and the implications of acute pain therapy for clinical outcome and quality of life.
  • Exchange of guideline developments, its methodology and implementation strategies.
  • Exchange of information and experience about the assessment and treatment of acute pain, both within IASP and in exchanges with other national and international NGOs such as the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists.
  • Identification and implementation of programs to minimize the development of acute pain and related suffering.
  • Furthering the educational objectives of the SIG via international meetings, an annual symposium, workshops at IASP World Congresses, Congress satellite meetings, a newsletter, and the IASP website.



The IASP SIG on Acute Pain keeps an archive of newsletters.

Go to the Archive


Upcoming Meetings

APSIG Satellite Meeting at  the 17th World Congress on Pain in Boston. More details to come.

Past Meetings

September 5, 2017, Copenhagen, Denmark
"Pain After Surgery," satellite symposium at the 10th Congress of the European Pain Federation EFIC. View Minutes.

September 25, 2016, Yokohama, Japan
"Are Perioperative Opioids Obsolete?" official satellite symposium of the 16th World Congress on Pain. View Minutes.
View Video Playlist.

August 26, 2012, Milan, Italy
"The Challenges of Acute Pain Management," official satellite symposium of the 14th World Congress on Pain

Discussion Forum

One benefit of SIG membership is the ability to interact with other SIG members via the online discussion forum. To be part of the SIG discussion forum you must first register.

To get started click here.

SIG Meetings Join Today! About SIGs

Officers [Term 2018-2022]

Chair: Esther Pogatzki-Zahn (Germany) 

Vice Chair: Patricia Lavand’homme (Belgium)

Past Chair: Stephan Schug (Australia) 

Treasurer: Audun Stubhaug (Norway)

Secretary: Jane Quinlan (United Kingdom)

Newsletter co-editors: Babita Ghai (India) and Felicia Cox (United Kingdom)

Benefits of Membership

Interested in joining a SIG? Become an IASP member! Learn about the many benefits of IASP membership.

Learn More