IASP Announces Winners of Award of Excellence

Dec 19, 2019

The IASP Developing Countries Working Group has selected two winners for the 2020 IASP Award for Excellence in Pain Research and Management in Developing Countries.

The IASP Award for Excellence in Pain Research and Management in Developing Countries honors an individual or team that has achieved an outstanding level of excellence in programs of basic-science research in pain or pain management, clinical research or practice, and/or policy changes in pain management in the developing world.

The 2020 recipients are Dr. Ashok Saxena (India) and Dr. Ana Vieira (Brazil). The recipients will be recognized at the IASP 2020 World Congress on Pain in Amsterdam, Netherlands from 4-8 August.

Dr. Saxena is recognized for his clinical research program on neuropathic pain in the context of Postherpetic neuralgia (PHN), painful Diabetic peripheral neuropathy (DPN), HIV-induced neuropathy, peripheral nerve trauma and on CRPS (Complex regional Pain Syndrome) type 1 including Pulsed Radiofrequency (PRF) lesioning of intercostals nerves in patients with PHN. In terms of policy changes, Dr. Saxena pioneered The Indian Guidelines-- a consensus statement on neuropathic pain. 

Dr. Vieira is recognized for her innovations in promoting the use of evidence-based, recommended pain management strategies for infants and young children during painful procedures in hospital and community settings. She has worked extensively in her community to share knowledge about how parents can reduce vaccination pain and has organized numerous talks presenting science to the public. She continues to work with the Federal Ministry of Health and is in the process of working on the Brazilian Neonatal Pain Guideline. 

Visit the Congress Awards website for more information!