2020 John D. Loeser Distinguised Lecture Award Winner Announced

Jun 18, 2019

Robert H. Dworkin, PhD Announced as the 2020 Recipient of the John D. Loeser Distinguished Lecture Award

IASP is pleased to announce that Robert H. Dworkin, PhD is the 2020 recipient of the John D. Loeser Distinguished Lecture Award. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the pain field and is intended to create a tradition that instructs, inspires, and challenges clinicians and researchers to understand human pain, and the suffering it produces, in the broadest ways possible. This award honors Dr. John D. Loeser for his many decades of dedication to the promotion of pain education and research.

Robert H. Dworkin, a long-time IASP member, received his BA from the University of Pennsylvania and his PhD from Harvard University. He is Professor of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, Neurology, and Psychiatry and Professor in the Center for Health + Technology at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry in New York, USA. Dr. Dworkin is also Director of the Analgesic, Anesthetic, and Addiction Clinical Trial Translations, Innovations, Opportunities, and Networks (ACTTION) public-private partnership with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and a Special Government Employee of the FDA Center for Drug Evaluation and Research. He is an Associate Editor of PAIN and a member of the Editorial Boards of Canadian Journal of Pain and Journal of Pain.

Dr. Dworkin’s research interests involve the development of improved treatment and preventive interventions for neuropathic and musculoskeletal pain. The primary focus of his current research involves the identification of factors that increase the assay sensitivity of clinical trials to detect differences between an active and a placebo control or comparison treatment. In ongoing studies, he and his colleagues are examining the relationships between clinical trial results and their research designs, patient characteristics, outcome measures, and statistical methods. Dr. Dworkin has also been involved in the identification of risk factors for the transition from acute to chronic pain. He has authored over 300 journal articles and book chapters, which have been cited over 36,000 times (h index = 87).

“I am thrilled to recognize Dr. Robert Dworkin with this distinguished honor,” said IASP President Lars Arendt-Nielsen. “Dr. Dworkin’s work embodies the spirit of this award and his research and other efforts have contributed to improving efficiency and transparency of information within the pain community resulting in better science and improve patient outcomes.”

As the recipient of this prestigious award, Dr. Dworkin will present the John D. Loeser Distinguished Lecture at the IASP 2020 World Congress on Pain in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, 4-8 August 2020.