Eight Named to IASP Honorary Membership

May 8, 2018

The IASP Council has approved the appointment of eight distinguished individuals as Honorary Members of the association. Honorary membership recognizes an individual’s exceptional accomplishments in pain research, clinical activities, and/or education; distinguished service to IASP; and other significant impacts, including leadership in pain education, management, and relief efforts.

Daniel Carr, Anesthesiology, United States of America
Daniel Carr, MD, DABPM, FFPMANZCA (Hon), holds professorships in Public Health and Community Medicine, Anesthesiology, and Medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine. As a clinician-investigator, he has published in preclinical and clinical pain research, evidence-based medicine, and the social and political aspects of pain relief. His research has ranged from preclinical opioid peptide design to formulation technology to enhance drug safety and effectiveness. He has conducted numerous clinical trials from academic, investigator-initiated to registration-oriented for marketing approval in the United States and internationally. He has advised U.S. Food and Drug Administration hearings, and he was involved in several leadership roles in the U.S. National Pain Strategy. He was founding editor of IASP’s Pain: Clinical Updates and has served IASP for more than 30 years on multiple committees and task forces. He also served two terms as chair of the SIG on Acute Pain.

Jose Castro-Lopes, Neuroscience, Portugal
José M. Castro-Lopes, MD, PhD, is professor of Histology and Embryology and of Pain Medicine, and head of the Department of Biomedicine of the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Porto. He was Coordinator of the National Plan for Pain Control of the Portuguese Ministry of Health (2001-10). His many publications contributed to the general understanding of the plasticity of the nociceptive system in chronic pain conditions and of the societal and personal negative impact associated with such conditions. At IASP, he was a member of the Council, served on the Committee on Committees, on the Editorial Board of IASP Press, and on the Publications, Research, and Finance committees. He also led the Working Group for Developing Countries and was the liaison officer for Latin America.

Anthony Dickenson, Neuroscience, United Kingdom
Anthony Dickenson, BSc, PhD, FmedSci, is professor of Neuropharmacology in the Department of Neuroscience, Physiology, and Pharmacology at University College, London. His research interests are pharmacology of the brain and spinal cord, including the mechanisms of ways pain can be controlled in both normal and pathophysiological conditions, and how to translate basic science to the patient. He has lectured extensively at IASP and EFIC congresses and is a highly popular speaker at workshops and Refresher Courses. He has also spoken on pain to general practitioners, nurses, physiotherapists, patient groups, the media, the public, and schools.

Maria Fitzgerald, Neuroscience, United Kingdom
Maria Fitzgerald, PhD, is professor of Developmental Neurobiology in the Department of Neuroscience, Physiology, and Pharmacology at University College, London. She is the world leader in infant and childhood pain research, having pioneered the study of the developmental neurobiology of pain. In collaboration with clinical colleagues, she introduced a new neurophysiological approach to pain measurement and treatment in hospitalized preterm and full-term infants. At the IASP, she was a member of several Scientific Program Committees, the Editorial Board of the journal PAIN and played a leading role in the SIG on Pain in Childhood, including several of its international congresses.

Troels Staehelin Jensen, Neurology, Denmark
Troels Staehelin Jensen, MD, DMSc, is professor of Neurology, at Aarhus University Hospital. He was the first basic experimental pain researcher in Demark, and his work has been a driving force for the high international level of Danish pain research. In a large series of studies, he systematically explored pain in a series of neurological diseases; more recently, he has established an international center at his university that is exploring the pathophysiology of diabetic neuropathy and pain. As President of IASP and later as IASP Liaison for South East Asia, he has been instrumental in establishing IASP chapters throughout this region and has helped ASEAPS in the creation of regional Pain Management Camps. He was one of the cofounders of NeuPSIG and as Council liaison from 2005-10 to this SIG greatly contributed to its growth.

Eija Anneli Kalso, Anesthesiology, Finland
Eija Anneli Kalso, MD, DMedSci, is professor of Pain Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, University of Helsinki. As a clinician and a researcher, she began her clinical career in acute pain management and quickly added cancer pain relief. As cancer pain became better managed and chronic pain was more recognized, she extended her work to the chronic pain field. She established a pain clinic in Helsinki University Hospital that is a model of multidisciplinary work. She is also an active member of the Cochrane Collaboration Review Group on Pain, Palliative, and Supportive Care, based in Oxford, UK. As section editor for clinical pain research for the European Journal of Pain, she has shaped this section and subsequently for the journal PAIN, before becoming IASP President in 2010.

M.R. Rajagopal, Pain Medicine, India
M.R. Rajagopal, MD, is director of the WHO Collaborating Center for Policy and Training on Access to Pain Relief at Trivandrum Institute of Palliative Sciences and the founder-chairman of “Pallium India.” While working as professor of Anesthesiology in Calicut Medical College in 1993, he founded the Pain and Palliative Care Society, which offers free pain management and palliative care to poor patients. This and other activities have made Kerala state a model for India’s 28 states. His initiatives to remove regulatory barriers in availability of oral morphine for pain relief have contributed to simplification of narcotic regulations in many states of India and to an amendment of the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act of India. At IASP, he was a member of the Developing Countries Task Force, Task Force on Wait Times, an awardee of an education grant for developing countries and for excellence in pain management in developing countries. He served on the steering committee for the International Pain Summit in Montreal 2010. At the WHO, he is involved with the Access to Essential Medicines program.

Masaya Tohyama, Neuroscience, Japan
Masaya Tohyama, MD, DMedSci, is professor emeritus of Anatomy and Neuroscience at Osaka University, and is president of Osaka Prefectural Hospital Organization. Recognized as one of the top-ranked neuroscientists in Japan, he has published more than 700 papers in international journals, including more than 100 papers investigating pain mechanisms using neurobiological and molecular biological techniques on animal models. To further the development of pain research in Asia, he founded the Asian Pain Symposium, which is held biannually in various cities in East Asia. At IASP, he was a Council member from 1995 to 2001 and had a plenary lecture at the 7th World Congress on Pain in 1993 in Paris. As director of the Japanese Association of the Study of Pain from 1993 to 2012, he made great contributions to this IASP chapter. His long-cherished dream came true in 2016, when the 16th World Congress on Pain was held in Yokohama.