Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

The SIG on Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS) aims to:

  • Provide a forum for members to engage in free and frank communication on the diagnosis and management of pain syndromes of the sympathetic nervous system.
  • Bring focus to new developments in the field in basic and clinical research.
  • Assimilate the views of the different medical disciplines and patient reports about pain and the sympathetic nervous system.

The IASP accepted criteria for CRPS follows:
Harden, R. N., Bruehl, S., Perez, R. S., Birklein, F., Marinus, J., Maihofner, C., Lubenow, T., Buvanendran, A., Mackey, S., and Graciosa, J. (2010). "Validation of proposed diagnostic criteria (the “Budapest Criteria”) for complex regional pain syndrome." PAIN, 150(2), 268-274. These criteria are described in the IASP Classification of Chronic Pain.

Roberto PerezRemembering Professor Roberto Perez, CRPS SIG chair

Professor Roberto Perez, our most recent CRPS SIG chair, died on September 7th, 2017. Roberto was a dear friend and collaborator to many of our SIG members and will sincerely be missed by our academic community. Roberto was a Physiotherapist by profession, and Professor of Pain and Pain Therapy Research at VU University Medical Centre, Amsterdam.  Candy McCabe, past president of the CRPS SIG, has written a heartfelt memorial which can be accessed at BodyinMind.



The IASP SIG on Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS) keeps an archive of published newsletters under its previous name of Pain and Sympathetic Nervous System (PSNS).

Go to the Archive


CRPS SIG Satellite meeting 2018 in partnership with the Acute Pain SIG
Date: September 11, 2018
Theme: 'The cascade from tissue injury to CRPS: beyond "chronification"'?
Location: Boston, MA
This Satellite meeting will precede the IASP World Congress in Boston and be held at the main conference center (BCEC in South Boston). Details to follow within the next few months. 

The CRPS SIG meeting 2019
Date: Tentatively, September 3, 2019
Location: Bergamo, Italy
This will be a Satellite to the European Pain Federation meeting in Valencia (September 4-7, 2019). Details to follow.


Past Meetings

SIG on Complex Regional Pain Syndrome, Cork, Ireland, 2017
The conference theme, “Working together is to succeed,” focused on the role of multidisciplinary team management and the importance of partnership to help identify, treat, and understand the nature of this disabling pain condition.


IASP members can contact the CRPS SIG Communications Liaison, Amanda Stone, at Members of the general public should contact IASP at with inquiries about the SIG.


The following resources are included to provide support to individuals looking for further information on CRPS. IASP is not responsible for the content listed on these sites.


International Research Consortium for CRPS
Core outcome measures for CRPS research studies (COMPACT)

Local Communities

United Kingdom: CRPS UK Clinical Research Network
United States: RSDSA
Canada: RSD Canada: Promoting Awareness of RSD and CRPS in Canada

SIG Meetings Join Today! About SIGs


Chair-Elect (Acting Chair): Andreas Goebel (UK)
Past Chair: Candy McCabe (UK)
Secretary/Treasurer: Jenny Lewis (UK)
Scientific Committee Chair: Lone Knudsen (Denmark)

IASP Council Liaison
Serge Perrot (France)

Benefits of Membership

Interested in joining a SIG? Become an IASP member! Learn about the many benefits of IASP membership.

Learn More