IASP eNewsletter - Aug 2014

IASP Names Six Honorary Members

The IASP Council has named six outstanding pain researchers and clinicians Honorary Members. All will be recognized before the IASP General Assembly of the 15th World Congress on Pain in October in Buenos Aires.

Honorary membership is the highest recognition the association awards its members. These individuals have made substantial contributions in pain-related fields and have advanced the mission of the association. They join 34 living honorees.

The committee reviewed more than a dozen nominations, basing its selections on the nominee's contributions in pain education, pain research and/or pain management; involvement and service to IASP; and exceptional contributions to pain issues at national and international levels.

Following are the 2014 IASP Honorary Members:

Gary Bennett Gary J. Bennett is Canada Senior Research Chair, Department of Anesthesia and Faculty of Dentistry at McGill University in Montreal, Canada. Dr. Bennett has devoted his career to improve our understanding of the underlying mechanisms of neuropathic pain, ultimately enhancing care provided to people suffering with these complex syndromes.
Marshall Devor Marshall Devor is a laboratory head in the Institute of Life Sciences, Hebrew University of Jerusalem and incumbent to the first endowed chair in pain research in Israel. Dr. Devor's extensive publications in the field, using a wide variety of experimental approaches, has contributed considerably to our understanding of the neurobiological basis of neuropathic pain. 
George Mendelson George Mendelson is Foundation Fellow, Faculty of Forensic Psychiatry, the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists. Dr. Mendelson’s significant contributions in pain management cover the fields of pain medicine, psychiatry, and the law and compensation for chronic pain.
Robert Andrew Moore

Robert Andrew Moore is Senior Research Fellow, Nuffield Department of Anaesthetics at the University of Oxford. Dr. Moore has supported and developed the thinking of many clinical and non-clinical “pain leaders” around the world, owing to his prodigious contributions to the knowledge and literature of pain and anesthesia. 

Donald Price

Donald D. Price is Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Department of Oral Surgery and Neuroscience, at the University of Florida College of Medicine. Dr. Price has contributed substantially to the treatment of pain by his tireless and passionate advocacy for adequate pain assessment and by developing scales that allow clinicians to measure the pain their patients communicate. 

Manoel Teixeira Manoel Jacobsen Teixeira is Professor of Neurosurgery in the Medicine School of the University of São Paulo, Brazil. A pioneer who expanded the study of pain in Brazil and throughout Latin America, Dr. Teixeira created the Residency Program in Chronic Pain in Neurology and Neurosurgery at the university, the first program of its kind in the country. He also founded the original League Against Pain, a model for 20 similar organizations in Brazil that educate students on the practical aspects of the assistance to chronic pain patients.