IASP eNewsletter - Aug 2014

Australian Pain Society Recognizes Best Speakers, Top Contributors at Scientific Meeting

The 34th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Australian Pain Society, held in Hobart April 13-16, was a fabulous success, both scientifically and socially. International speakers Drs. Jane Ballantyne, Andrew Moore, and Jeffrey Mogil gave thought-provoking presentations on topics relevant to the conference theme, “Personalized Pain Management.”

Discussions focused on the problem of opioids, understanding the evidence, and the role of genetics. Among other features, the program included excellent plenary sessions by some of Australia’s best pain researchers, 18 different topical sessions, and 90-second rapid communication sessions, which were audience favorites.

Hobart provided the perfect venue for networking and socializing. The reception at Government House was a highlight. The biggest social event was the Gala Dinner at the Museum of Old and New Art (MONA), which attracted 320 guests.

Several speakers were commended for their wonderful presentations. The winner of the Best Oral Presentation was Yasmin Ahamed. The winner of the Best Rapid Communication was Carolyn Berryman, and the Best Poster Presentation was Michelle Rostas. Ceremonies recognized APS members who had made major contributions to the society and significant and enduring contributions to the world of pain, whether in a clinical, educational, or research role, via the Distinguished Members Awards. This year, Dr. Frank New, Dr. James O'Callaghan, Dr. Daryl Salmon, and Professor Jenny Strong were recognized for their outstanding contributions.