IASP eNewsletter - Jun 2014

University of Iowa Honors Former IASP President Gebhart

Former IASP President Gerald F. Gebhart has received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine. The award recognizes Iowa graduates who have transcended their roles as health-care providers, scientists, and educators to become influential participants in the advancement of the art and science of medicine.

Gebhart is the founding director of the Pittsburgh Center for Pain Research and professor of anesthesiology, medicine, neurobiology, and pharmacology and chemical biology at the University of Pittsburgh. Internationally recognized for his research on mechanisms and modulation of pain, Gebhart has served as a mentor to countless medical and graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and colleagues. Gebhart was IASP President from 2008 to 2010.