IASP eNewsletter - Jun 2014

EFIC Elects New Officers, Plans November SIP Meeting

The European Federation of IASP Chapters (EFIC) held its annual council meeting in Brussels on May 26. Councilors from 31 European chapters attended and reviewed the past and future work of EFIC. An EFIC/IBSA Publication award of €2500, funded by an unrestricted educational grant from Fondazione IBSA, was made by President Hans Georg Kress to Romina Nassini on behalf of Serena Materazzi, authors of the winning paper, “Parthenolide inhibits nociception and neurogenic vasodilatation in the trigeminal vascular system by targeting the TRPA1 channel.” The paper was published in PAIN last year (S. Materazzi et al, PAIN 154 (2013) 2750-2758).

Other business included developing the Societal Impact of Pain (SIP) meeting on November 18, 2014, in the EU Parliament. Following the great success of SIP 2013, the mission of the European platform for improving pain care in Europe continues. This year there is a departure from the usual style of didactic slide presentations to shorter, more focused talks in a debating style of meeting, led by Nick Ross. Nick is a top global moderator of scientific and other events with a long history and involvement in health-care policy.

A new EFIC Executive Board has been elected. Dr. Chris Wells, from Liverpool, UK, becomes president, and Hans Georg Kress, from Vienna, Austria, moves to past president. Wells is a full-time pain clinician who is an honorary member of the British Pain Society and of NeuPSIG. He was secretary of EFIC from 2002 to 2005 and has been president-elect since 2011. The new president-elect, who will take office in 2017, is Dr. Bart Morlion from Leuven, Belgium. Morlion is director of the multidisciplinary pain center at the University Hospital Leuven and a professor at the Catholic University of Leuven.

Elon Eisenberg, is the new treasurer. He is a professor of Neurology and Pain Medicine and Director of the Pain Research Unit at the Institute of Pain Medicine, Rambam Hospital in Haifa, Israel. Eisenberg and Morlion join Nevenka Krcevski-Skvark, Hans Georg Kress, and Chris Wells to manage, with the able secretariat in Brussels, the day-to-day tasks of EFIC and to steer its policies and activities. 

EFIC Board 2014
From left to right: Eli Alon, Elon Eisenberg, Bart Morlion, Chris Wells, Hans Georg Kress, Nevenka Krcevski-Skvarc,
Giustino Varrassi, Christel Geevels and Sarah Darley