SIG on Pain Education Officers

Dr. Beth Hogans, M.S. (Biomath) M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Hogans is an Associate Professor of Neurology and Director of Pain Education at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine. She also serves as interim Associate Director for Evaluation and Education at the Geriatric Research Education and Clinical Center at the Veterans Administration Maryland Health Care System in Baltimore. Dr. Hogans has attended all IASP World Congresses since 2002, she has presented at and co-directed multiple IASP workshops and has been an active participant in the Pain education SIG. Hogans was a founding member of the IASP Pain Education SIG and served for several years on the Developing Countries Working Group with colleagues from around the world under the direction of Michael Bond. During 2017-8 Hogans was active in the IASP Global Year for Excellence in Pain Education serving on the Executive Task Force led by Paul Wilkinson and co-authoring multiple fact sheets, led by Judy Watt-Watson, for the global year including the topics of Current Status of Pain Education, Pain Curriculum Design Models, and Pain Education in Low-Resource Countries. Together with Dr. Debra Gordon, Dr. Hogans co-founded the Pain Education SIG for the US chapter of IASP. Hogans has been active in partner organizations such as the American Medical Association, the American Academy of Neurology, and the American Academy of Pain Medicine, leading the AAPM consensus recommendations for pain education in medical school. Hogans is Section Editor for the Pain Education and Training section of the journal Pain Medicine, dedicated to publishing scholarly, innovative pain education research. Most recently Hogans led the effort to create a virtual issue of Pain Medicine, dedicated to Pain Education, in recognition of the IASP global year. Hogans has been vigorous in interprofessional education collaborations and has served on the executive committees of the Interprofessional Pain Competencies (Fishman-Mayday) Project and contributed to the Interprofessional Competencies in Pain as well as the USMLE Pain Competencies assessment project. She currently heads an interprofessional team working on the NIH Pain Consortium Center of Excellence in Pain Education (CoEPE) at Johns Hopkins. "My vision for the SIG is to move forward capitalizing on the achievements of the 2018 Global Year of Excellence in Pain Education, finding new ways to bring interprofessional engagement to promote pain education, support educational development, and enhance the sharing of educational resources. I plan to work closely with the prior SIG leaders and current SIG members to realize the vision of the membership for a group that is responsive to the needs of our global organization. There are ongoing profound needs to educate patients, stakeholders, and providers about the benefits of interprofessional pain care utilizing both pharmacological and non-pharmacological approaches to improve quality of life and increase pain self-efficacy. IASP has been central to revolutionizing what we know about pain scientifically, the opportunity now is in transferring this understanding and these innovations into clinics and the hands of patients. We face multiple massive public health challenges relevant to pain education including: the burdens of pain, the need for safe pain treatments, avoidance of addiction, and chronic pain prevention."

Dr. Sailesh Mishra, M.D. 

Dr. Mishra is consultant in anesthesia and pain management in NHS England at Newcastle upon Tyne and associate clinical lecturer in Newcastle University. He trained in India for 13 years, and in the UK for another 7 years before taking up my consultant role. His 20 years of fulltime training has motivated him to take on educational roles in pain management, which he delivered in a timely manner. Last year, he led the British Pain Society (BPS) Preregistration pain education document task group working with pain educators across different specialties and released the document at the summer ASM of the BPS. Currently, he is leading the IASP project on developing a learning module on minimum essential pain management training for all health care professionals across the world. Dr. Mishra sits on the Faculty of Pain medicine of the Royal College of Anesthetists Professional Standards Committee and co-chair the working group on educating Fellow clinicians on Opioid reduction strategies. He is committed to pain education and have the experience of working within and leading a multidisciplinary education team. He is actively networking with pain educators in the UK and in Asia, and feels he will be able to disseminate the vision and projects of the Education SIG widely as an elected officer. 

Dr. Babita Ghai, M.D. 

Dr. Ghai is an anesthesiologist with more than 21 years post MD experience with keen interest in pain management, pain education, & pain research and policy creation. She is involved in both acute and chronic pain. Made significant contributions in pain field at international, South-East Asian, Asian, National, Institutional, undergraduate, postgraduate, nursing and community levels especially in pain education. Been instrumental in establishing the pain clinic at our institute. Has been involved in disseminating pain education from community level to international level. Dr. Ghai is the recipient IASP developing country education grant in 2014. She has actively contributed towards spreading public awareness about various pain conditions. Also, actively involved in pain research with main focus at evaluating safer interventional therapeutic options for chronic low back pain. Her recently published research work has been cited in latest international NICE guidelines and in several recent systematic reviews & meta-analysis. Also, involved in exploring psychometric properties and cross-cultural adaptation of various Neuropathic pain screening questionnaires (including Hindi versions) to assist clinicians in over-crowded pain clinic in developing countries like India. In addition, she is involved in national policy creations. She is an expert group member for national pain guidelines development and expert for national pain program.