IASP Distinguished Lectures

John J. Bonica Distinguished Lecturer

Catherine Bushnell

Thursday, October 9, 2014

The John J. Bonica Distinguished Lecture Award honors the founder of IASP and is presented at each World Congress on Pain to a person who has made a major contribution to pain research or pain therapy.

M. Catherine Bushnell, Ph.D., has been named the John J. Bonica Distinguished Lecture Award recipient. Dr. Bushnell is Scientific Director of the Division of Intramural Research at the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Dr. Bushnell is responsible for establishing and overseeing a new, state-of-the-art program to be the focus of NCCAM's intramural research, on the brain's role in perceiving, modifying, and managing pain. Dr. Bushnell holds a Ph.D. and M.A. in experimental psychology from the American University, Washington, D.C., and a bachelor's degree in psychology from the University of Maryland, College Park. She began her scientific career at NIH at what is now the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research exploring the psychological aspects of pain processing. She also received postdoctoral training in neurophysiology at NIH. Prior to her appointment at NCCAM, Dr. Bushnell was the Harold Griffith Professor of Anesthesia and professor in dentistry and neurology at McGill University, in Montreal, Canada. She was also director of the McGill Alan Edwards Centre for Research on Pain.

Dr. Bushnell has been selected for this award because of her substantial and excellent contributions to pain research, in particular her seminal work using brain imaging and psychophysical testing to study the neural basis of pain perception. Her distinguished lecture presentation will discuss past and current work on this topic.  

John D. Loeser Distinguished Lecturer

Lilliana De Lima

Wednesday, October 8, 2014

The John D. Loeser Distinguished Lecture award honors Dr. John D. Loeser for his many decades of dedication to the promotion of pain education and research. The award is intended to create a tradition that instructs, inspires, and challenges clinicians and researchers to understand human pain, and the suffering it produces, in the broadest ways possible.

Lilliana De Lima, MHA, has been named the John D. Loeser Distinguished Lecture Award recipient. Ms. De Lima is a native of Colombia, South America. She received a bachelor's degree in psychology in 1984, and went on to earn masters' degrees in Clinical Psychology in 1991 and in Health Care Administration in 2000. In 1996 she completed a Fellowship in Policy Studies with the Pain and Policy Studies Group/WHO Collaborating Center, at the University of Wisconsin, in Madison. From 1998 to 2000 she worked as Program Director in the Palliative Care Department at the University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Since August 2000 Ms. De Lima has served as the President of the Latin American Palliative Care Association and has been the Executive Director of the International Association for Hospice and Palliative Care (IAHPC) since 1999. She is currently a PhD candidate in Health Care Policy and Administration.

Ms. De Lima has been selected for this award because of her substantial contributions to improving pain management and quality of life in terminal patients by advancing hospice and palliative care programs, education and research around the world. Her leadership initiatives and the way in which she has established strong relationships with other regional and national organizations to administer resources and fulfill the mission of IAHPC are impressive. Her distinguished lecture presentation will focus on these topics.

Ronald Melzack Lecturer

David Yarnitsky

Friday, October 10, 2014

This lecture was created by the IASP Council in honor of Ronald Melzack, to acknowledge his seminal work and key contributions to the science of pain. The award is funded by the Louise and Alan Edwards Foundation. The Scientific Program Committee selects the Ronald Melzack Lecture from among the plenary presentations it has chosen for the Congress, identifying the lecture that best fits with the overall work of Ronald Melzack.

David Yarnitsky, MD, has been named the Ronald Melzack Lecture Award Recipient. Dr. Yarnitsky graduated from the Faculty of Medicine of the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology and completed his Neurology residency at the Rambam Medical Center. He conducted a fellowship in neuromuscular disorders and neuropathic pain at Good Samaritan Hospital of the Oregon Health Sciences University in Portland, Oregon. Dr. Yarnitsky has served as head of the Clinical Neurophysiology Unit at Rambam Medical Center since 1994. After a sabbatical leave at Beth Israel, Harvard in Boston from 1998 to 1999, Dr. Yarnitsky was appointed Head of Neurology at Rambam in 1999. He also heads the laboratory for Clinical Neurophysiology at the Technion and is the current head of the Neurology section in the Faculty of Medicine.

His research focuses on pain, in the aspects of measurement, mechanism and therapy, migraine, autonomic disorders and cerebrovascular disorders. The Scientific Program Committee selected Dr. Yarnitsky's plenary lecture for this award as it will focus on aspects of pain measurement, mechanisms, and therapy in the spirit of Ronald Melzack's work.