William D. Willis, Jr., M.D., Ph.D. Memorial Lecture


  • US$2,000
  • Travel to the Congress (discount airfare), Congress registration, and accommodation expenses

The William D. Willis, Jr., M.D., Ph.D. Memorial Lecture was created in 2019 to honor the legacy of William D. Willis, an IASP leader and long-time pain researcher. The award recognizes significant accomplishments in basic science pain research. The recipient is selected by the Scientific Program Committee with the approval of the IASP Council.

The lecture will be awarded to an individual who meets following criteria.

  1. Must be an active member of IASP
  2. Scientist with significant accomplishment in basic science pain research
  3. Scientist who has not received this or any other IASP distinguished lectureship

2020 Recipient:

Gary Lewin, PhD

Head of Lewin Lab | Lewin Lab | Germany

Learn More

Click here to see previous winners of the William D. Willis, Jr., M.D., Ph.D. Memorial Lecture.