John J. Bonica Distinguished Lecture Award


  • Plaque to be presented at the Congress
  • IASP membership, airfare (economy class) to the Congress, Congress registration, and accommodation expenses
  • Cash award of US$3000


The John J. Bonica Distinguished Lecture award honors the founder of IASP. The award was initiated in 1984 and is presented every two years to a person who has made a major contribution to pain research or therapy. The IASP President selects the recipient. The recipient will present a plenary lecture at the IASP World Congress.

2020 Recipient:

Srinivasa N. Raja, MD

Professor of Anesthesiology and Neurology, Director of Pain Research| John Hopkins University School of Medicine | USA

Learn More

Click here to see past winners of the John J. Bonica Distinguished Lecture Award.