2020 Global Year Webinar

Innovation in Prevention and Management of Pediatric Pain

Date: 6 October 2020
Time: 15:00 EDT/13:00 MDT/ 12:00 PDT

Presenters:

Liisa Holsti, PhD, Reg. OT(BC), MA, BSR

Dr. Liisa Holsti is an Associate Professor in Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy at UBC and a Scientist at BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute. She holds a Canada Research Chair and her program of research focuses on developing ways to reduce stress and pain and to support optimal development in infants and children. 

Amy Holley, PhD

Dr. Holley is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pediatrics at OHSU and the Associate Director of Pediatric Pain Psychology in OHSU’s Pediatric Pain Management Center. In addition to her clinical work Dr. Holley studies functional outcomes in children and adolescents with pain, with a focus on identification of risk factors that predict poor outcomes over time. Dr. Holley is the co-founder of the Advancing Research in Pediatric Pain Lab at OHSU and is a principle investigator and co-investigator on NIH-funded research studying pain in children and adolescents. 

Kathryn (Katie) Birnie, PhD RPsych

Dr. Kathryn (Katie) Birnie is a Psychologist at Alberta Children’s Hospital and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine in the Cumming School of Medicine at the University of Calgary. She is also the Assistant Scientific Director of Solutions for Kids in Pain (SKIP), a national knowledge mobilization network working to improve evidence-based children’s pain management through coordination and collaboration. Dr. Birnie leads the Partnering For Pain lab, and conducts patient-oriented research focused on improving assessment and management of acute and chronic pain experienced by children, adolescents, and their families. She is a strong advocate for the partnership of patients and families in health research, health care delivery, and health systems design.