2020 Global Year Webinar

Opioids and Pain Persistence: A Role for Neuroimmune Mechanisms

Date: 18 May 2020
Time: 12:00 EDT/17:00 GMT/18:00 CET

This webinar is hosted by Pain Research Forum (PRF) and is part of a new PRF Seminar series. These seminars will be provided in a roughly alternating fashion, with trainees presenting one week, and professor-level researchers presenting the next. PRF thanks the Center for Advanced Pain Studies at the University of Texas at Dallas, USA, for generously supporting the new series.

Opioid use for pain management has dramatically increased, with little assessment of potential pathophysiological consequences for the primary pain condition. Grace will discuss recent findings that a brief course of opioids, including morphine, can remarkably increase the duration and severity of neuropathic pain. Evidence will be presented that cytokines — driven by Toll-like and purinergic receptor signaling — enhance such pain. This work may reveal strategies to eliminate deleterious effects of opioids while retaining analgesia.

Presenter:

Peter Grace, PhD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Cancer, Houston, USA

Moderator:

Anne Murphy, Georgia State University, Atlanta, US