Nominated for Councilor:
Eloise C.J. Carr, RN, PGCEA, RNT, MSc., PhD

Current professional title(s) and affiliation:
Professor, Faculty of Nursing, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Adjunct Professor, Community Health Science, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada

A brief description of your work and interests in the pain field:
A nurse by background, I am strongly committed to improving pain management through collaborative practice where professionals can work and learn together to improve patient care. My research expertise on mixed methods research (quantitative and qualitative approaches) is integral to my research program focusing on patients’ experiences of pain, pain education, and the impact of organization policy on pain management. In particular, I am interested in the barriers to effective pain management and knowledge translation (KT) or implementation science related to pain management.

A brief statement of why you are interested in running for the position:
As a member of IASP since 1989, I bring a clinical and scientific perspective, particularly in advancing uni-and interprofessional pain education and working. I have led initiatives within the IASP family of organizations at the SIG, Taskforce, Chapter and to the current Global Year for Excellence in Pain Education. My experience on the Developing Countries Working Group (DCWG, 2006-2016) provided a deeper appreciation and understanding of pain initiatives with colleagues working in low-resourced areas. As a counselor I will build on this platform to develop and further the work of IASP, particularly around public, professional and policy issues affecting pain education.

Listing of IASP activities including current and prior IASP committees, working groups, or SIG leadership groups on which you have served:
I have been a member of IASP since 1989. I have contributed to many leadership roles in IASP, including co-founding new groups to meet an identified gap:

IASP Taskforces, committee and working groups:

  • Member - Taskforce for Global Year for Excellence in Pain Education (2017-2018)
  • Chair (past) Special Interest Group (SIG) Pain Education (2014-2016)
  • Chair and co-founder of the Special Interest Group (SIG) Pain Education (2010-2014)
  • Member - Education Initiatives Working Group (2009-2011) and sub-group member for ‘Education Endorsement working group’ (Led by Dr. J. Ballantyne)
  • Member - Taskforce ‘Pain in Developing Countries Working Group’ (2006-2016). Led a sub-committee to develop evaluation criteria to measure the impact of DCWG grants.


  • Canadian Pain Society - Secretary (2017-2020)
  • Canadian Pain Society - Co-Chair Special Interest Group Pain Education, (2014-2017)
  • Canadian Pain Society - Member of the Scientific Planning Committee (2013-2015)
  • British Pain Society - Council member (2002-2005, 2007-2011)
  • British Pain Society - Chair ‘Communications Committee’ (2007-2011)
  • British Pain Society - Chair ‘Special Interest Group’ Pain Education, British Pain Society (2007-2011)