Council Position No5 Candidate: Romy Parker, BSc, MSc, PhD

Current professional title(s) and affiliation(s):
Associate Professor
University of Cape Town and Groote Schuur Hospital, Western Cape Department of Health

A brief description of your work and interests in the pain field:
My work in the pain field is an extension of my personal goal – that every person in South Africa has access to a healthcare professional who understands pain. My work in pain includes laboratory, clinical, education and implementation research. I lead a team of clinician researchers working in both perioperative pain and chronic pain management. Our aim is to develop, test and implement effective, culturally appropriate and sustainable treatments. My personal focus is on chronic pain in people living with HIV, exploring epidemiology, pain mechanisms and non-pharmacological interventions using education and exercise for implementation at the primary healthcare level.

A brief statement of why you are interested in running for the position:
I wish to serve as a councilor for IASP as I believe my skills in governance make me an able representative. IASP is a unique group, being both interdisciplinary and global. As a woman, from a developing country, and as a physiotherapist who works in clinical and interdisciplinary educational settings, I will represent diverse members of IASP at Council. Key skills that I bring to this role include discussion and debating skills to ensure all voices are represented and mentored; rapporteuring, record keeping, and governance skills including developing standard operating procedures and codes of conduct.

Listing of IASP activities including current and prior IASP committees, working groups, task forces, or SIG leadership groups on which you have served:

Pain, Mind and Movement SIG
• Secretary 2010-2014
• Chair 2014-2018
• Past-Chair 2018-2020

IASP Committee on Committees
• 2019-present

IASP Presidential Task Force on SIG Governance Review
• 2019-present

IASP Task Force for the Global Year against pain
• 2020

Pain Research Forum Editorial Board
• 2018-present

2020 World Congress on Pain Scientific Committee member