Treasurer Candidate: Michael C. Rowbotham, MD

Current professional title(s) and affiliation(s): 
UCSF Adjunct Professor of Anesthesia and Professor Emeritus of Neurology; Attending Neurologist, UCSF Pain Management Center
A brief description of your work and interests in the pain field:
For 30 years, my neurology practice and research has focused on chronic pain, especially neuropathic pain. I’ve been a leader in treatment development and evaluation via novel trial designs, including the lidocaine patch, gabapentin, opioids, antidepressants, and experimental compounds. Recently, I led all research at Sutter Health, the 8th largest US health care system with five research institutes. Mentoring  clinical researchers, promoting ethics in research, and increasing clinical research transparency remain core focus areas. 
Interests: trial design/methodology, neuropathic pain mechanisms, human experimental pain models, zoster/PHN, therapy development, opioid hyperalgesia and addiction, ethics and transparency in clinical research.
A brief statement of why you are interested in running for the position:
My IASP service is diverse and spans three decades. As Treasurer from 2012-2016, stabilizing IASP’s finances was top priority. Helping IASP successfully continue its international mission despite unprecedented challenges is my goal. As a US-based member, my expertise leading a $50m/year research enterprise spanning all of northern California enhances the broad scope of my clinical and research experience. In addition to preserving IASP’s support of clinical and basic research, further strengthening IASP programs of education and direct service in developing countries is absolutely crucial. IASP is the only organization whose global mission is to improve care for those in pain.
Listing of IASP activities including current and prior IASP committees, working groups, task forces, or SIG leadership groups on which you have served:
1988-now         IASP Member
1995    IASP Task Force on Professional Education, revision of Core Curriculum for Professional Education in Pain
1996-1999    IASP Scientific Program Committee, 9th World Congress on Pain
1997-1998    IASP Committee on Publications 
1997-2000    IASP Task Force on Opioid Sensitivity of Chronic Non-Cancer Pain
1998-1999    Chair, Mentors program for IASP 9th World Congress on Pain
1999-2000    Co-Editor, Proceedings book for IASP 9th World Congress on Pain  
1999-2005    IASP Council
2000-2005    IASP Publications committee
2003-2005    IASP Bylaws committee
2003-2005    IASP Liaison SIG on Pain and the Sympathetic Nervous System               
2005    Contributing Author, IASP Task Force on Professional Education Core Curriculum for Professional Education in Pain, 3rd ed.
2009-2012    IASP Finance and Publications committees
2012-2016    IASP Treasurer
2016-now      IASP Finance Committee
2019-now      IASP Task Force on Cannabis and Cannabinoid Medicine for Clinical Pain